Who Needs Carbs

managing an LCHF lifestyle in Israel

Soul searching

When I started to eat according to LCHF, I had no problems to continue to bake for the rest of the family and friends. I could take tray after tray from the oven with rye bread or biscuits, and make sculptural birthday cakes with delicious creams, without any desire to taste even half a crumb.

A few days ago I decided to invent a new recipe for the book and I made cookies without flour and sweetened them with Truvia (a mix of Stevia and Erythritol). I found myself eating the cookies without end.

—–

Towards the end of last week three grandmothers knocked on the door with a big basket full of goodies in their hands. They were a delegation from the neighbors and wanted to invite us “for a drink and to meet the rest of the commune.” So the next evening we went over to the neighbors and saw a gathering of about 20 seniors and older seniors, and a table covered with more of their factory’s products. They assured us that all the products were kosher and “please, take a piece of strudel.” Do you know how hard it is to say “no thanks” in broken German to cute 80 yo grandmothers?

I ate, it was tasty, and the next day I constantly kept looking for more floury and sugary carbohydrates I could eat …

—–

There’s a very good Swedish book about sugar addiction that unfortunately hasn’t yet been translated into English – “The Sugar Bomb in Your Brain” by Bitten Jonson, a lic. nurse who herself was addicted to alcohol and sugar.

The book explains very simply what addiction is (both a chemical change in the brain and specific behaviors), the differences between “addiction” and “harmful use”, how all addictions are connected one to each other whether it’s smoking, drugs, shopping, sex, or sugar, and how detoxification from one sometimes isn’t really a detox but just a move to another substance. In the book she also writes about how to detox and the withdrawal processes and retells many stories of people who has done it themselves. In short, the book is worth to be translated!

Of course the book made me think … I’m pretty sure I’m not addicted to sugar. I mean, I’m not looking for open kiosks in the middle of the night to buy something sweet, or making huge candy shopping telling stories about parties etc and then secretly eat it all by myself. But I wonder where the border between addiction and harmful use is … I mean, sometimes I find myself buying something full of sugar, even when I didn’t plan to. (Mostly happens when I go to IKEA – They have Swedish chocolate …) And I also noticed that lately I keep thinking of all the cakes I don’t eat any more … Am I only now after so many years, mourning? (Interesting that it happens even to those who aren’t considered as addicts!)

So where is the border between addiction and harmful use? One thing I know – Flour and sugar is definitely addictive! Not everyone can take only a small bite or a tasting without consequences …

Would you like to leave a comment?

Information

This entry was posted on September 25, 2012 by in General, Personal experience and tagged , , , , , , , .

to LCHF Israel site

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 504 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 20,340 hits
