Who Needs Carbs

managing an LCHF lifestyle in Israel

Thank you, Dr. Davis!

(December 4, 2011)

The dear doctor, who wrote the book “Wheat Belly“, continues to experiment in the kitchen and share his recipes. In honour of Thanksgiving he made a flour and sugar free traditional pumpkin pie.

I’m not crazy about the American pumpkin pies, but since my husband is one (i.e. American) I decided to make him one pie for Shabbat. What can I say? It seems like even I could learn to like pumpkin pie! 😉

To help us locals, I converted the recipe to more understandable measures … 😉

Dr. Davis’ Pumpkin Pie
For the crust mix:

  • 300 ml ground walnuts
  • 60 ml flax seed
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 100 g butter, melted

For the filling mix:

  • 475 ml pumpkin puree
  • 220 g cream cheese (30%)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 100 ml coconut milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon ginger (ground)
  • Stevia according to taste
  1. Prepare the crust and spread/press it out, even up the sides, in a 23 cm pie plate/pan.
  2. Prepare the filling and pour on the crust.
  3. Bake in 190 C, about 40 minutes.

Some of my comments: (can’t without them 😉 )

  • I only have a 26 cm pie pan – also worked well.
  • Accidentally I forgot to add the nutmeg – something Freudian? ;-)(I personally don’t like nutmeg so much.)
  • In my opinion, the filling was sweet enough without Stevia but as I know that some sweetness disappears while baking, and some more sweet lovers than I were going to eat the pie, I decided to add Stevia anyway. I added 30 drops of liquid Stevia.
  • I’m not sure why the recipe calls for coconut milk – for flavour or texture – but I think that regular cream (38%) would do too. I might try that next time.
  • If you want a parve crust, you can of course use coconut fat instead of butter. And by the way, I will use this crust for other pies as well. Maybe one can even make cookies from that dough …
Would you like to leave a comment?

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2012 by in recipes and tagged , , .

to LCHF Israel site

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 504 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 20,340 hits
