Who Needs Carbs

managing an LCHF lifestyle in Israel

Daring to do something extraordinary

(June 13, 2011)

Yesterday I did something I never done before and never thought I’d ever do. I wrote emails to radio programs and journalists! Apparently it’s never too late to try something new 😉

And this is what I wrote:

Hello [name of the program’s host/journalist] and editors!

My name is Dina [and I am a regular listener/read the newspaper often …].

I write because I thought you/the editors would be interested in something a little different – On Tuesday the National Cholesterol Day is marked, by free blood tests and instant counseling (in Nahalat Binyamin). You probably heard the ads.

It’s just that …

There are more and more studies showing that high cholesterol in itself does not cause heart disease (and lowering the HDL “the good cholesterol” is even harmful).

There are more and more studies showing that the drugs against high cholesterol are more harmful than helping (especially the statins – speaking of statins, there are studies that prove that they do not help women at all …).

All the conventional wisdom for about the last 50 years regarding saturated fat and cholesterol and their relationship to heart disease are based on false research.

And I wonder …

Who is behind this national day? That is, who pays for it …? It’s sponsored by the Association for the Study of Prevention and Treatment of Atherosclerosis, the Israel Heart Society, and the Association of Internal Medicine, but who gives the money funding for this day? Does it happen to be any pharmaceutical companies?

And I also wonder …

What kind of advice will be given there and by whom? Unfortunately, most nutritionists and dietitians do not have enough background in endocrinology and they give advice affected by pharmaceutical and food industries.

And most of all I wonder – Are there still investigating journalism who are interested to put  “facts and truths” on their head when they are wrong … *** (links below)

I thank you for reading this far 🙂 I’ll be happy to answer questions if I can, I myself am still learning the subject. After all, I also learned all my life how to eat “right” and when I ran into this literature and various articles about a year ago, it was really revolutionary.

Sincerely,

Dina Goldberger-David

PS I apologize for any spelling errors. I am a new immigrant for more than 25 years … 😉

*** I am enclosing some very interesting links on the subject:

1) On cholesterol – Scroll down for the list of facts. You can read more about each paragraph by clicking the number. There you can also find links to all related studies. http://www.ravnskov.nu/cholesterol.htm

2) An article by journalist Gary Taubes who specializes in investigating research. (He also wrote some very interesting books): http://www.nytimes.com/2002/07/07/magazine/what-if-it-s-all-been-a-big-fat-lie.html?scp=1&sq=what%20if%20its%20all%20been%20a%20big%20fat%20lie?&st=cse

3) A lecture by Tom Naughton definitely worth the 50-60 minutes! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=exi7O1li_wA

At Tom Naughton’s site (www.fathead-movie.com) there’s also a good list of further literature about Cholesterol (http://www.fathead-movie.com/index.php/recommended-reading).

There’s plenty more and I’d be happy to give to anyone interested!

I want to mention that I have no financial interest to publish the links or these people. My desire is only to give people more information so they can decide for themselves how they want to live, what to eat, and if or not to take drugs that usually cause more harm than good. Unfortunately, today most people think that doctors are know-it-all and do not know that many of the different health professionals are affected by the large corporations whose main interest is financial …

Would you like to leave a comment?

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2012 by in General and tagged , , .

to LCHF Israel site

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 502 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 20,820 hits
